Members of The Spaceguard Foundation

Members of The Spaceguard Foundation




Members of the Board of Directors:

Trustee Members:

Clarke, Arthur C.:
author of several famous science fiction novels, including Prelude to Space (1951), Childhood's End (1953) and 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968); in Rendezvous with Rama (1973) he described the effects of the collision of an asteroid with the Earth and the settlement of a Spaceguard organization for the protection of the Earth against such events.
Shoemaker, Carolyn S.:
Whipple, Fred Lawrence:
considered by many as the greatest all-round twentieth-century contributor to our understanding of the solar system; his concept of the icy-conglomerate, or "dirty-snowball", model (1950) for a cometary nucleus, together with Jan Oort's concept of a cloud of comets surrounding the solar system at a great distance, put the study of comets on a truly scientific basis, thereby providing an important component of the raison d'etre of The Spaceguard Foundation.

Sustaining Members:

Regular Members:

Associate Members:

back Back to the Spaceguard Foundation additional information page
Page maintained by Giovanni Valsecchi (
Last modified: May 17, 2002, 14:10